Dear Murphy: Bucket List

dogs-bucket-list-f_2871190kDear Murphy,
I have been battling cancer for about a year and a half. Despite every treatment my human’s have given me, the cancer has taken it’s toll and I will likely head over the rainbow bridge soon. It’s very very sad, and I will miss my family so so much.

But on a happy note… I have prepared a bucket list for myself in these final weeks. Have you heard about these? It’s pretty awesome, and I think all dogs (and cats) should consider it. Some of the items on my list are….
+ Eat a McDonald’s cheeseburger! I can’t wait!
+ I love to howl and help out fire engines, so being able to ride on a real fire engine would be amazing!
+ I’d love to take a spin in my little sisters stroller….and be pushed around like a Dog King.

So? What do you think? Do you have any ideas or activities that I should add?

Signed,
Forever Young

rainbowDear Forever Young,
I am deeply sorry to hear about your diagnosis, and I truly wish you had more time with your family. However, it sounds like you are making the most of the time you DO have, and that is how it should be!

I have heard of bucket lists, and I think it’s a positive way to look at your final days here, and a special way to enjoy the time left with the ones you love.

Your list is off to a great start, if it were my list, I would add the following . . .

+ Go on a date with that pretty Golden Retriever puppy from the park.
+ Have bacon for breakfast, lunch, and dinner . . . and dessert.
+ Run around in the “No Dogs Allowed” areas.
+ Be featured as “Mr. November” in a dog calendar.

I hope these last few weeks are joyful, relaxing, and give you peace. See you on the other side my friend.

Bark Bark,
Murphy

 

 

Leave a Reply

