Dear Murphy: It’s me…Murphy

IMG_7497Dear Murphy,
Hi, it’s me, Murphy. Yes I am writing to myself this month. November happens to be Pet Cancer Awareness month…and I have recently been diagnosed with cancer, so I want to take some time to talk about this with my furry friends and followers. My cancer is called Anal Sac Adenocarcinoma (AGASACA).

My parents took me to my vet at Worth Street Veterinary Center (because they love me) and because my #2’s were starting to change shape. Aside from that, I had no clear symptoms that anything was wrong.  So the vet did a rectal exam on me (ouch!)…and the exam didn’t yield great results. The vet found a large mass in my abdomen and I was diagnosed with cancer a week later. I felt really badly because my mom cried a lot and she kept hugging me. I tried to tell her that I was fine, but she seemed scared.

Now, many tests later….I am undergoing radiation treatments for my cancer at Blue Pearl Vet (an amazing facility!) I have two more treatments to go and my tumor is already beginning to shrink! We (dogs) are a lot more resilient and tolerant of radiation than humans are. Still, radiation can cause a roller coaster of complications sometimes, and I have had a few! However, my disease is manageable right now, my tumor is shrinking, and I get to snuggle and play with my family. I try to take it one day at a time, and today is a good day.

My message to all of you is- get a rectal exam at EVERY vet visit! It may detect cancer in the anal sacs earlier and provide a better long term prognosis.

For more information about Dog Cancer Awareness month and cancers in dogs, please visit the below links.

Bark Bark,
Murphy

Symptoms of Cancer: https://iheartdogs.com/do-you-know-the-warning-signs-for-cancer-a-vet-gives-you-10/

Anal Sac Cancer info: http://veterinarymedicine.dvm360.com/identifying-and-treating-anal-sac-adenocarcinoma-dogs?rel=canonical

Donation Info: http://curepetcancer.com

November Cancer Month info: http://www.hamboneaward.com/november-marks-national-pet-cancer-awareness-month/
My human sister and I.

Leave a Reply

