Dear Murphy: I Want To Be a Show Dog!

Dear Murphy,

So…..I hear the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show is coming up in February? Being that I am a gorgeous Chinese Crested with so much hair to style, I think my coat is Westminster worthy! Although I may not be able to show off my luxurious bouffant skirt and coiffed hair this year (it obviously takes an entire year for my hair to grow in perfectly), that’s not going to stop me from becoming a world class champion show dog! How do I go about in becoming the Top Dog of the entire world?

Sincerely,

Best in Show 2016

http://www.itsdogbreeds.info/images/chinese-crested-dog.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Best in Show 2016,

I like your ambition! Because I am a rare elusive form of Miniature Schnauzer (my fur is white), I am not allowed in the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show. Isn’t that ridiculous?! Apparently my luscious white locks are not an acceptable standard of my breed. But this is an example of one of the many rules you must follow to become a show dog.

There are a slew of requirements that must be completed in order to participate in the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show. The main criteria is that you must earn championship titles from other shows first. You must be the best of the best of your breed.  As an example, here are some criteria for Miniature Schnauzers (from the official AKC Miniature Schnauzer website: http://amsc.us/breed-standard):

1. Size: No shorter than 12 inches and no larger than 14 inches.

2. Color: Salt and pepper, black and silver and solid black colors are the standard colors of Miniature Schnauzers.

3. Nose: Must be black. Not pink or purple or orange. Black.

4. Coat: Must have a double coat with the outer coat being wiry and a close undercoat. Coats that are soft like a baby’s bottom will be disqualified. Hear that? Don’t use too much conditioner!

 

Good news for all you mutts aka “All-American Dogs”, the Westminster Kennel Dog Show is accepting mutts as of last year. However, mutts were only allowed in the agility trial. Soon, mutts and white Miniature Schnauzers will take over the world!

I applaws your journey in becoming a show dog. Don’t forget to tell them that Uncle Murphy was here when you were a wee pre-show dog!

Good luck and dogspeed!

Murphy

Leave a Reply

